André first studied at the University of Pretoria. After Internship he started working at a Mission Hospital (Letaba Hospital) in the Northern parts of South Africa. During 1975 he participated in Operation Savannah as the only anesthesiologist for No 1 Forward Surgical Unit stationed at Céla in Angola with Genl. Tony Dippenaar. He was awarded the Pro Patria medal with Cunene Clasp and during that time he developed the first recorded continuous peripheral nerve blocks (CPNB) for transport of wounded soldiers. He then entered private General Practice with his brother Louis, first in Sabie and later in Tzaneen in the Northern parts of South Africa. During the next seven years he obtained a Master’s degree in Family Medicine from the University of Pretoria (M.Prax.Med.). He completed residency in Anesthesiology at the University of the Witwatersrand and obtained a Diploma in Anesthesiology (DA(CMSA)), Fellowship of the Faculty of Anesthesiologists (FFA(CMSA)) and a Master’s degree in Anesthesiology (M.Med.(Anaesth) and underwent further training in Critical Care Medicine (CCM). He entered Private Practice in Cape Town and Paarl in South Africa in 1989 and focused on CCM, Ambulatory Continuous Regional Anesthesia, and completed a Ph.D. degree at the University of Stellenbosch studying cerebral blood flow under Professor André Coetzee. He developed the “stimulating catheter”, the continuous cervical paravertebral block, and documented over 15,000 peri-retrobulbar eye blocks and, to date, over 26,000 continuous peripheral nerve blocks. During 2001 he immigrated to the USA where he worked as Clinical Full Professor at the University of Iowa and founded the Division of Orthopaedic Anesthesia and the Regional Anesthesia Study Center of Iowa (RASCI). In 2007 he relocated to the University of Florida in Gainesville Florida and was appointed Full Tenured Professor of Anesthesiology and Orthopaedic Surgery. He founded and headed the Division of Acute and Peri-operative Pain Medicine (APPM) that currently educates 7 fellows per year, has 12 full-time APPM specialists, does 13,000 nerve blocks per year of which 75% are CPNBs. He received numerous awards including Best Doctors in America from 2005 to 2019/20, numerous teaching and research awards, and is the holder of 7 international patents. He authored over 120 peer-reviewed papers, 10 textbooks, more than 60 textbook chapters and serves on the editorial boards of 5 international journals and reviews manuscripts for 16 journals. He presented over 250 international abstracts at major conferences and with Mary K. Bryson was awarded a Certificate of Merit by the Frank Netter Foundation for “The Primer for Regional Anesthesia Anatomy” for medical illustration in 2005. André retired from the UF on June 30, 2019 and now hold Emeritus Professor Status. He currently serves as Editor-in-Chief of, Director of the Alon P. Winnie Research Institute and Director of the Cancer Pain Treatment and Research Foundation.