Prof O’Sullivan trained in anaesthesia in the UK and USA.

Now a consultant anaesthesiologist at St James Hospital Dublin, Ireland she specializes in airway management and runs an airway fellowship. Clinically she has developed a worldwide reputation in airway management with a substantial portfolio of clinically relevant research. She was a member of the Editorial Board of the British Journal of Anaesthesia and reviews for many journals. She has lectured worldwide and has been an invited Visiting Professor to many institutions.

She has been involved in the Difficult Airway Society (DAS) since it’s foundation and was elected President of DAS in November 2009.

In 2016 she was appointed the Difficult Airway Society Professor of Anaesthesia & Airway Management.

Other roles in societies include

•           Board Member of Society of Airway Management  (SAM) USA

•           Awarded Fellowship of European Airway Management Society

•           Hon Member of Airway Special Interest Group (ANZCA) 2018

•           Distinguished Contribution  Award  from the International Airway                         Management Society (IAMS) 2018

She was elected to the Council of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) in 2001 and was Vice –President. She received the John Snow Silver Medal for her contributions to the AAGBI.

Prof O’Sullivan is the Past-President of the College of Anaesthesiologists  of Ireland.  She received the Dudley Buxton award from the RCOA for services to anaesthesia.

Prof O’Sullivan was Irish Lead for the National Audit Project 5 on Accidental Awareness under Anaesthesia (AAGA) a joint RCOA/AAGBI initiative. This received an Irish Healthcare Award for Best Hospital Project in Ireland in November 201. It was also awarded the Humphry Davy medal by the RCOA.

International and third world work forms an important part of her career. She has been teaching & training in Eastern & Central Africa for many years and involved in the Oximetry Project (Lifebox). More recently she led an initiative in Malawi and completed a Capnography project there. This has led to the setting up of the GCAP project (

Prof O’Sullivan is an elected member of Council of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and chairs their first Global Partnership Committee.

In addition she is

•           Member of Board of DAS & SAM

•           Executive Director of the 2nd World Airway Management Meeting                      (WAMM) , Amsterdam in 2019,having set up and chaired the first                          WAMM in 2015

•           Member of the DAS, Awake Tracheal Intubation Group

•           Member of the ASA Task Force on Management of the Difficult Airway

•           Member of the Project for Universal Airway Guidelines Group (PUMA)